Weekly Writing Update

Wow, That Fic is really not cooperating with me lately!  To be fair, I’ve been absolutely exhausted this past week, my new schedule is pretty mentally draining, and any writing I’ve done has been what I call ’emotional dump’ – I’m just getting out any ideas I have, and not really focusing on story craft.  Hopefully I can figure out a good balance to my schedule this week, so that I’m not mentally bone-dead by the time I sit down to write.

So, writing that I have actually done this week.  There’s an Achievement Hunter fic I’ve been dabbling with, which I started a few months ago as a little break from That Fic, and I actually did get quite a bit down for it this week.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with Achievement Hunter, they’re a subset of the Internet company Rooster Teeth (which is famous for shows like Red vs. Blue and RWBY), and they’re essentially a group of gamers that produce Let’s Plays.  The fic I’m writing isn’t a RPF, but is based more on their characters from their GTA V series.

I guess I’ll talk about this fic a little, since it’s what I worked on this week, though I doubt it’ll see the light of day any time soon, if at all.  It is, like many fics about their GTA gameplay, about a heist (for those of you unfamiliar with AH, their GTA V Heist videos are some of their best work, and naturally has a lot of prominence within the fandom), and it’s really just a ‘feel-good’ fic that shows how the crew (somehow) manages to work together.  I’m not going to get any further into it, since it’s still very early in the development stages right now, and a lot of things could (and do, and will) change, but it’s something I tap away at when I’m too tired to do some serious work.

What else?  I’ve been ruminating on a few, very rough ideas, which I won’t go into  until I’m more certain that they’re ideas I can develop and take further than vague imaginings.  There is one that has potential, since it’s not a new idea, but rather something I started thinking about years ago and only just picked up again, so it’s a little more developed than the other odd bits I’ve got floating around.  I will say it’s a Tolkien fic, and a crossover at that, though I won’t say with what quite yet.  It’s got good potential, I think, but we’ll see.

I’m going to sign off now, since I’ve got some other work to get done that’s a bit more urgent than my writing.  I’ll see you all next time, and hopefully with more to talk about!

Leave a comment