Tra-la-la-lally: Songs of the Week

Sorry I missed last week’s post, I was occupied the entire day and then I never got around to doing it in the days after!  There’s been quite a bit of music this week, though not many recurring songs, mostly whatever comes to the mind in an idle moment.  So to switch it up, I thought I’d do a non-English songs post this week, get a bit of variety from the usual musicals bonanza.

1 – Aya Ngena – Traditional Zulu Folk Song

I learned this song with my school choir and it’s easy to learn and great fun to sing.  As an alto, I usually go for Part 2 harmony, but soprano part is pretty fun too.  Nice little song to sing, and sounds amazing when all the parts are singing in harmony.

2 – Echoes of the Rainbow – Echoes of the Rainbow (2010)

A really sad song from a really sad but excellent movie.  When Aarif Lee sings it in the movie, it’s heartbreaking.  The movie is in Cantonese, but there are English, Cantonese, and Mandarin versions of the song.  Whatever language you hear it in, it really tugs at the heartstrings.

3 – Le temps des fleurs – Dalida (1968)

This song holds a special place in my heart for its fond memories of French class, unlikely as that statement might sound.  Fun rhythm to dance to, nice tinge of fond remembrance in the lyrics, lots of lovely la’s to sing out.

4 – Always With Me (Itsumo Nandodemo) – Youmi Kimura

I’ve loved this song ever since I first heard it in the credits of Spirited Away.  It’s one of the most beautiful songs I’ve ever listened to, and it really defies description, you just have to listen to it.  Absolutely beautiful, I never get tired of listening to it.

So that’s this week’s special edition post!  Most of these songs are findable on YouTube, though I’m not sure about the last one, I don’t recall that I’ve been able to find a quality copy on YouTube in the past.  But if you want to listen to it (and I very highly recommend you do), you can do some Internet browsing, or borrow a copy of Spirited Away from the library, and it should be in the credits.  Happy listening, and see you all next week!

Leave a Reply

