Tra-la-la-lally: Songs of the Week

It’s that time of the week again!  Going more old-style pop this week, with a dash of musicals.  Not much variety from previous posts, I will admit, but there are a couple of new additions to mix things up a bit, including this blog’s first French song!

1 – Your Song – Moulin Rouge (2001)

I think at this point, it’d be pretty redundant to keep going on about why I love this song, so I’ll just leave it here in top place.

2 – Sometimes When We Touch – Dan Hill (1994)

A classic love song, with just the right balance of melancholy sprinkled with a dash of cheesiness.  Still love belting it out though.

3 – Day After Day – Lyndzie Taylor

Back in the ye olden days of MP3 players, this was one of the preloaded songs that came with my MP3, and I was amused enough by it that I didn’t delete it.  Perhaps not a great classic of pop songs, but I’m rather fond of it all the same.  The lyrics have a relatable feel to them and the music’s pleasing enough to listen to.

4 – Le temps des fleurs – Dalida (1968)

A lovely song that was first introduced to me by some Quebecois acquaintances, and which I really love singing with my friends.  The music is quite unique, at least to my Anglophone ears, and the lyrics (en français!) have a wistful feel to them.  It’s also one of the few French songs I know that is not a silly language-learning one, and Dalida is quite a singer.

5 – Elephant Love Medley – Moulin Rouge (2001)

Aaaand to round out the list, some classic Moulin Rouge.  It’s a great medley arrangement, which I’ve espoused the value of many times over already, but which deserves every single endorsement.

There you are, some variety after all!  My fondness for old pop songs is starting to come through in these weekly selections.  Give them a try on YouTube if you please, I’ll admit that not all of them would belong to an easy listening set, but I am fond of them.  See you next week!

Leave a Reply

