Tra-la-la-lally: Songs of the Week

Going a little more (older) pop culture this week, though Les Mis still retains a place.  I just watched the Les Mis 25th anniversary celebration and that’s what I call a proper anniversary celebration.  Samantha Barks is really the definitive Eponine for me, and I think I found my favourite Javert (though I have admittedly only listened to three casts…)

1 – Hallelujah – Shrek (2001)

I’ve loved this song ever since I first heard it on the Shrek soundtrack, and I’ve been singing it all week since it’s one of the few songs I can sing as I play piano.  Really sad but beautiful.  alsoplsimaginethisasthesoundtrackforobikinangstsorrynotsorry

2 – Stars – Les Miserables (2010 Anniversary)

This is another song I really like to sing, and after hearing Norm Lewis sing it when I watched the 25th anniversary…WOW.  That really solidified him as my Javert.  It’s a great song that really shows Javert’s headspace, and it is intriguing to put yourself into the guy’s shoes and feel that self-certainty and self-righteousness that drives him.

3 – Sometimes When We Touch – Dan Hill (1994)

For some reason, this song’s been in my head this week.  It’s a wonderfully dramatic song, makes you want to do dramatic arm movements and exaggerated facial expressions when you sing it.  I did name a fic after it once, though it ended much more happily than this does.

4 – Queen of Hearts – Juice Newton (1981)

I first found this song on an Agent Carter fanvid by the fantastic sholiofic and fell absolutely in love with it.  Great beat, nice lyrics, that nice vintage-y pop vibe.  What’s not to love?

Lot more pop this week, but Les Mis is still holding its own.  Either way, you just can’t beat the classics.  As usual, all these songs are easily findable on YouTube, and I do recommend you give them a listen, despite my poor descriptions.  Enjoy, and see you next week for some more music picks of the week!

 

One thought on “Tra-la-la-lally: Songs of the Week

  1. I love Les Mis and have seen it more than once. I have seen the stage production four times and one of those includes the West End production. I have even watched the movie and the 25th anniversary concert as well. So I am a big Les Mis fan and went to a Les Mis party yesterday and dressed up as Eponine

    Like

Leave a Reply

